Friday, 8 April 2011

Rev78 - Boy In The Blitz

Camden's guitar pop buzz band Rev78 launch their debut album on the 28th of April at Proud Galleries - the album itself, Boy in the Blitz, is to be released on the 2nd of May. 
The band have just been signed to Camden's Day Job Records.

6th Borough Project - One Night In The Borough

6th Borough Project - One Night In The Borough (Part 1), the first single release from their forthcoming LP, is out now. Take a listen here.

The duo's debut LP on Delusions of Grandeur is released on 9th May - Limited Triple Coloured Vinyl + CD and 6th June - Digital. If you still haven't checked out the album then give it a listen - perfect summery vibes for this spell of good weather we're experiencing.

6th Borough Project Tour

6th Borough Project will be touring extensively throughout the year to support the LP. Confirmed territories so far include: May - UK / Europe, June - Australia / Indonesia, July & August - UK / Europe, September - Japan / Asia / USA / Canada, October, November & December - South America & UK / Europe. Further dates to follow.

19-Apr Rome L-Ektrica
22-Apr Budapest
24-Apr Leeds Monocult
01-May Hawke & Hunter Edinburgh
13-May London Plastic People
13-May London Plastic People
14-May Southampton
20-May Amsterdam Melkweg
21-May Waterford The Basement
27-May Newcastle Club Asylum
28-May Brussels Libertine Supersport
03-Jun Frankfurt Discocaine
12-Jun Manchester Parklife
18-Jun Dublin
24-Jun Bucharest
02-Jul Barcelona Razmatazz
15-Jul Hultsfred, Sweden Hultsfred Festival
31-Jul Mitchelstown Indiependence


Sunday, 13 March 2011

Kissy Sell Out new album tracklist plus tourdates

Kissy Sell Out releases his new album 'Will Romance' on 6th May. A man with many talents, his new album features 12 blistering tracks from ballistic straight out the box club annihilators, to peak time radio hits, it’s a coming of age for this master-producer.

25/2 DJ SET – Superfly - Leicester
26/2 DJ SET – The Arena – Middlesborough
1/3 DJ SET – Tup Tup Palace – Newcastle
25/3 DJ SET – Sankey’s – Manchester
26/3 DJ SET – Vivaz Venue – Scarborough
2/4 DJ SET – Guildhall – Plymouth

1. Something Extraordinary
2. Turn It On feat. MC Cobra
3. Little Angel
4. Homesick feat. Oh Snap!
5. Twiggy
6. Wild In The Warehouse
7. Alison
8. Redrinkulous
9. Eternal
10. Wild Romance
11. Family
12. Alone On he Roof Top

&C :: Let You Go :: Single Launch & Free Download

Under her pseudonym of Dimbleby and Capper, vocalist, producer and re-mixer Laura Bettinson is set to release her debut single Let You Go, on East London indie label TAPE (home to The Brute Chorus) in March 2011.

Following the underground critical acclaim of her self-released 2009 debut EP Slick Maturity, Bettinson continues to demonstrate her dynamic and original approach to songwriting and production, effortlessly exhibited on her debut single Let You Go

Credibly bridging the gap between uplifting pop and underground electronica, D&C has gained fans in respected names as Groove Armada and Band of Skulls, both of whom she has provided remixes. As well as the “6th member of Radiohead” producer and Atom’s For Peace member, Nigel Godrich, with whom D&C has forged several collaborative side projects.

With a BBC Maida Vale Session for Huw Stephens already under her belt, performances at Latitude and Glastonbury festivals and recent support slots for Local Natives, Chew Lips and Edward Sharpe, D&C with her soaring vocals and strong production will undoubtedly be a one to watch for 2011.

Download here.

Friday, 11 March 2011

Dan Sartain: F**k Friday, F**k Saturday, F**k Sunday

Dan Sartain heralds his forthcoming ‘Legacy Of Hospitality’ compilation (OLI, 25th April) with a special 3-track Record Store Day Exclusive 7” single. Lead track ‘F**k Friday…’ finds our hero expressing - to his full capabilities - his aversion to most weekend activities.  

It’s backed meanwhile with the genuinely disquieting ‘In Death’a skeletal surf hook riding the line ‘I wanna die, wanna die, wanna die…’ and a planitive instrumental ‘It Was Always You, Helen’.  


Listen here.

Freerange Records Colour Series: Violet 08 - Released 4th April

Time for another Colour Comp no?  Yes, of course it is.  It’s number 8 in the series and it’s violet.  And we reckon its the best yet but i suppose we should let you lot be the judge of that.  As always, the Colour Comps round up our favourite Freerange tracks of the year with the addition of four punctiliously interwoven exclusives which also make up the  accompanying 12” vinyl sampler.  Needless to say, a quick flick through the tracklisting reads like a roll call of underground house heros including KiNK, Rozzo, Losoul, Jimpster, Shur-i-kan and Tony Lionni to name a few.

So who better than Freerange main man Jimpster to kick things off with his homage to classic 90’s house entitled Inside The Loop, the favourite of many a discerning DJ from Jimpster’s last EP Alsace & Lorraine.  Lovebirds is up next having been put through KiNK’s finely tuned sonic mangle with the result being a hyped up disco-infused track that’s loaded with grainy funk.  Next we have Melbourne’s finest Mic Newman stepping up with the first exclusive Filthy Forever, a raw and pumping high energy track straight out of the MCDE school of disco meets hip hop meets dirty old-school house.  Nikola Gala, Bassfort and Tony Lionni all come good with their tried and tested Freerange hits Keep Walking, Dixtritt and Deep Field until it’s time for the second exclusive in the form of The Faint Of Heart by Arithmetics aka Matt Masters and Pezzner.  Here they deliver a lovely track laden with chiming synth arpeggiations and layers of building pads all underpinned by a fat deep house groove.  Next up we have another exclusive from Jimpster with a track entitled Cloudwalking - a low slung, swampy and slightly acidic  little number complete with trippy warped-out vocal samples tailor made for those special moments on the late night floors.  Shur-i-kan goes all guns blazing in his riotous tribute to a particular night in the land of the rising sun then its down to Rozzo to strip back Pezzner’s The Tracks Are Alive to within an inch of its life.  Tomson & Benedict show off their uber deep capabilities on Rainy Things until it’s time for the finale, the pièce de résistance in the form of Martin Patiño’s Make Love.  This is a very special track which has been raising roofs wherever Martin and Jimpster have been playing it from Johannesburg to Berlin to Tokyo.  Layers of ostinato orchestral strings build gradually over the course of the piece getting increasingly intense with the energy levels being hightened further by the lack of any kick drum throughout the entire track teasing the  dancefloor into submission.  A real classic in the making we feel, and the perfect close to  what we hope you agree is a perfect compilation of underground house sounds.



1    Jimpster - Inside the Loop  
2    Lovebirds - My Man    (KiNK Remix)
3    Mic Newman - Filthy Forever  
4    Nikola Gala - Broken Chords  
5    Bassfort - Dixtrit    (Jimpster Remix)
6    Tony Lionni - Deep Field     (Losoul Remix)
7    Arithmetics - For The Faint Of Heart  
8    Jimpster - Cloudwalking  
9    Shur-i-kan - One Night in Tokyo  
10  Pezzner - The Tracks are Alive    (Rozzo Remix)
11    Tomson|Benedict - Rainy Things    (Telepathy Dub)
12    Martin Patino - Make Love   

Thursday, 10 March 2011

New Dominique Young mixtape out

Dominique Young Unique returns in 2011, hitting SXSW head-on with a series of shows and a brand new mixtape recorded in her home studio in Tampa, Florida. Glamorous Touch is released on a custom Dominique Young Unique lipstick shaped MP3 player.

For a preview of "Glamorous Touch", check out Young's Mixcloud account here.